Water Cistern -- concrete or plastic?

Joel Skousen's Discussion Forums: The Secure Home (FAQ): Water Cistern -- concrete or plastic?
Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of pageLink to this message  

True North

Thursday, September 20, 2001 - 07:29 pm Click here to edit this post
I will be adding a water cistern to my house soon. It will be filled via gutter downspouts as shown in Joel's _Secure Home_ and _HS Shelter_ books. I have no experience with water storage, but I have seen molded plastic tanks for sale locally. I could drop one of those in the hole I dig, or I could cast my own cistern out of cement.

I plan to dig the cistern hole within two feet of my house foundation walls. While I'm digging, I may widen the hole for an emergency exit of the shelter I plan to build on the other side of the wall.

Does anyone have suggestions?

Regards,
True North

True North

Friday, September 21, 2001 - 11:52 am Click here to edit this post
Some rainwater collection systems use a diversion system that lets the initial rainfall flush the dirt off the roof, then later diverts the follow-on rainfall to the cistern. Joel's cistern plans do not use this flushing technique, but more simply, just collect all rainwater from the gutter. How important is an initial roof flush? I doubt bird poop is toxic, but radioactive or chemical-laced dust is a different matter. See http://saferain.hypermart.net/ for details.

Alonzo W. Wight (Alonzow)

Monday, September 24, 2001 - 08:57 am Click here to edit this post
Buried cisterns or water tanks have been know to "float" up out of the ground if the tank is empty and the ground is saturated with water. A cistern which will be filled only by roof run-off may be empty a good bit of the time. The weight of a concrete tank will naturally help to minimize this problem. I can't help but think that a concrete tank will also be a lot more rugged and long lasting.