Lost Liberties

Joel Skousen's Discussion Forums: Foundations Of The Ideal State: General Discussion Area: Lost Liberties
Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of pageLink to this message  

Ralph Hughes (Rhughes)

Tuesday, April 18, 2006 - 05:30 pm Click here to edit this post
We talk a lot about lost freedoms and liberties, but I find I'm not good at explaining our lost liberties. I'd like to initiate some discussion about how some of you other folks notice our lost or diminished freedoms.

The freedom I most miss is that to carry a pistol concealed. The idea of having to get the permission of some other person to carry a concealed pistol irritates me no end. And no, I don't have such a permit because I will not submit myself to that sort of thing.

I also miss the freedom to control that property that is taxed away from me and given as welfare and foreign aid, regardless of what I think of the recipients.

I feel threatened by the influx of illegals into our country and frustrated that our government is not only ignoring it, but actually fostering it.

I'd like to hear from some of you all on this subject.

Shawnee Lane (Shawnee)

Tuesday, April 18, 2006 - 09:10 pm Click here to edit this post
I miss freedom of speech and have trouble accepting people not even caring that they’ve given up individuality to “get with the program” or become “just another brick in the wall” to serve the PTB. In past decades Americans were colorful, unique characters. Now so many look and sound alike. They don't seem to resent being mind-controlled puppets influenced by the media; they embrace this bondage. I miss the good old days when America had more “real” and stronger-willed people. I miss the privacy we enjoyed decades ago, and the safer days when we could trust more people and crime was "out there somewhere," rarely, if ever did violence intrude upon our comfortable little towns.